Colorbar
People and partners

People and partners

The Virginia Commonwealth University Rice Rivers Center is distinguished by the highly collaborative and cross-disciplinary work of its scientists and students.

VCU faculty from multiple disciplines lead students and partner agencies in shared research that maximizes results. This approach leads to more synergies than more traditional methods and education.

Affiliated faculty

Salvatore Agosta, Ph.D.
Center for Environmental Studies
Evolutionary ecology
Email: sagosta@vcu.edu

Bonnie Brown, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Ecological genetics, aquaculture
bonnie-brown-vcuegl.squarespace.com
Email: blbrown@vcu.edu

Paul Bukaveckas, Ph.D.
Department of Biology and Center for Environmental Studies
River and ecosystems ecology
wp.vcu.edu/pabukaveckas
Email: pabukaveckas@vcu.edu

Lesley Bulluck, Ph.D.
Department of Biology and Center for Environmental Studies
Avian ecology
rampages.us/bullucklab
Email: lpbulluck@vcu.edu

Vickie Connors, Ph.D.
Center for Environmental Studies
Atmospheric science
Email: vsconnors@vcu.edu

Edward Crawford, Ph.D.
Deputy director, VCU Rice Rivers Center
Wetland ecology
Email: ercrawford@vcu.edu

Rodney Dyer, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Environmental Studies
Population and landscape genetics
dyerlab.bio.vcu.edu
Email: rjdyer@vcu.edu

Arthur Evans, D.Sc.
Smithsonian Institution; Virginia Museum of Natural History; Department of Biology
Entomology
arthurevans.wordpress.com
Email: arthurevans@verizon.net

Linda Fernandez, Ph.D.
Center for Environmental Studies and VCU School of Business, Department of Economics
Environmental economics
Email: lmfernandez@vcu.edu

Michael Fine, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Fish neurobiology
biology.vcu.edu/people/fine-michael-.html
Email: mfine@vcu.edu

Rima Franklin, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Microbial ecology
rima-franklin.squarespace.com
Email: rbfranklin@vcu.edu

Greg Garman, Ph.D.
Director, VCU Rice Rivers Center
Fish ecology
Email: ggarman@vcu.edu

Chris Gough, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Forest ecology
people.vcu.edu/~cmgough
Email: cmgough@vcu.edu

Derek Johnson, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Population and invasion biology
vcuderekjohnson.com
Email: dmjohnson@vcu.edu

Leigh McCallister, Ph.D.
Department of Biology and Center for Environmental Studies
Aquatic biogeochemistry
biology.vcu.edu/people/mccallister-leigh-.html
Email: slmccalliste@vcu.edu

Daniel McGarvey, Ph.D.
Center for Environmental Studies
Fish ecology and environmental policy
mcgarveyecology.com
Email: djmcgarvey@vcu.edu

Stephen McIninch, Ph.D.
Center for Environmental Studies
Fish ecology
Email: spmcinin@vcu.edu

Scott Neubauer, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Wetland ecology
sites.google.com/a/vcu.edu/neubauer
Email: sneubauer@vcu.edu

Bart Paxton
Center for Conservation Biology
Avian ecology
ccbbirds.org/about-us/staff/barton-paxton/
Email: bjpaxt@wm.edu

Will Shuart
Center for Environmental Studies
Environmental data management
Email: wshuart@vcu.edu

Arif Sikder
Center for Environmental Studies
Fluvial sedimentology
Email: amsikder@vcu.edu

Fletcher Smith
Center for Conservation Biology
Avian ecology
ccbbirds.org/about-us/staff/fletcher-smith
Email: fmsmit@wm.edu

Brian Verrelli, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Population and evolutionary genetics
Email: bverrelli@vcu.edu

Cathy Viverette, Ph.D.
Center for Environmental Studies
River and avian ecology
Email: cbvivere@vcu.edu

James Vonesh, Ph.D.
Assistant director, Center for Environmental Studies
Population and community ecology
wp.vcu.edu/voneshlab
Email: jrvonesh@vcu.edu

Bryan Watts, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Conservation Biology
Avian ecology
ccbbirds.org/about-us/staff/bryan-watts
Email: bdwatt@wm.edu

Anne Wright
Department of Biology
Outreach education; aquatic ecology
biology.vcu.edu/people/wright--anne-.html
Email: abwright@vcu.edu

Donald Young, Ph.D.
Chairman, Department of Biology
Plant ecology
biology.vcu.edu/people/young-donald.html
Email: dyoung@vcu.edu

Julie Zinnert, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Plant ecophysiology and remote sensing
cpel.vcu.edu/people
Email: jczinnert@vcu.edu

 
 
VCU Rice Rivers Footer
About us People and partners Research Community engagement News and events Site Reservation
Virginia Commonwealth University | VCU Life Sciences | VCU Rice Rivers Center | Box 842030 | Richmond, Virginia 23284-2030
(804) 827-5600 | ricerivers@vcu.edu
Colorbar